ScheduleΒΆ

This is the schedule for the semester. This page will be frequently updated based on how we progress. Homeworks and links to the lecture will be provided here for easy reference to the calendar. The assignments refer to the homework following a class meeting. So if on a particular date it says watch a video, that is for next time!

Date Agenda Assignments
Mon Sep 06
Warning
No class, Labor Day - No class
Wed Sep 08 Organizational meeting, meet and greet fellow classmates (slides)
Read Chapter 1: What is Cognitive Science and how do we study it? before next class.
Mon Sep 13 Lecture on 'What is cognitive science?' (slides)
In class activity: here.
Read Chapter 2: Why do we have to learn statistics? before next class.
Wed Sep 15 Lecture on basic research design (part 1) (slides)
Read Chapter 3: Introduction to Jupyter before next class, and watch accompanying video.
Mon Sep 20 Review/discussion of JupyterHub. Walk through demo. Read Chapter 4: Introduction to Python for Psychology Undergraduates before next class, and watch accompanying video.
Homework 1, due Mon Sep 27.
Wed Sep 22 Review/discussion of basic Python programming.
In class activity: here
(solution).
Read Chapter 5: A brief introduction to research design before next class.
Homework 1, due Mon Sep 27.
Mon Sep 27 Lecture on basic research design (part 2) (slides)
Join group to work on homework or start on ICA.
Choose and read paper for next class ICA
Wed Sep 29 In class activity: here.
Mon Oct 04 Python practice with in class acitivity here (answers), begin Homework 2 in class. Homework 2, due Tue Oct 12. If you need additional FOR-LOOP help please read through this notebook.
Wed Oct 06 In class acitivity here (answers). Continue Homework 2 in class. Homework 2, due Tue Oct 12.
Begin reading Chapter 6: Format and structure of digital data up to section 6.10 before next class.
Mon Oct 11
Warning
No class, Fall break - No class
Tue Oct 12
Warning
Special date, Legislative Day (classes meet on Monday schedule) - Review/discussion of data organization and pandas, in class acitivity here (Answers) Homework 2 due Tue Oct 12.
Read rest of Chapter 6: Format and structure of digital data before next class, and watch the video lecture.
Wed Oct 13
Warning
No class, Brenden has conflict. Watch video instead. - No class Read rest of Chapter 6: Format and structure of digital data before next class, and watch the video lecture.
Mon Oct 18 In class acitivity here (answers). Work on Exploring Data (HW3) notebook. Read Chapter 7: Visualizing data before next class.
Wed Oct 20 Lecture on describing and visualizing data (Part 1) (slides). (Slides on risky choice.). Work on HW3. Exploring Data (HW3) notebook due Wed Oct 27.
Read Chapter 8: Describing data before next class.
Mon Oct 25 Lecture on describing and visualizing data (Part 2) (slides). Work on HW3. Homework 3, due Wed Oct 27. Make slides for HW3 Question 4.
Wed Oct 27 In-class presentatinos of HW3 Q4. Finish Exploring Data (HW3) notebook. Turn in Exploring Data (HW3) notebook tonight (Wed Oct 27).
Read Chapter 9: Samples, populations, and sampling before next class.
Mon Nov 01 Work on Sampling In-class Activity (Ch8) notebook. Complete in class activity if your group was unable to finish.
Read Chapter 10: Hypothesis testing before next class.
Wed Nov 03 Student pres. Work on Hypothesis testing In-class Activity (Ch10) notebook. Complete in class activity if your group was unable to finish.
Read Chapter 11: Comparing one or two means before next class.
Mon Nov 08 Student pres. Lecture on t-test, Work on t-test In-class Activity (Ch12) notebook. Read Chapter 12: Measuring behavior before next class.
Wed Nov 10 Student pres. Lab 1Work on Signal Detection Theory lab Read Chapter 13: Research Ethics before next class.
Mon Nov 15 Student pres. Lab 1Work on Signal Detection Theory lab Read Chapter 14: Linear Regression before next class.
Wed Nov 17 Student pres. Lab 1Work on Signal Detection Theory lab Read Chapter 15: Logistic Regression before next class.
Mon Nov 22 Student pres. Lab 2Work on Linear Regression lab Read Chapter 16: Linear Mixed Effect Models before next class.
Wed Nov 24 Student pres. Lab 2Work on Linear Regression lab Read Chapter 17: Mental rotation before next class.
Mon Nov 29 Student pres. Lab 2Work on Linear Regression lab Read Chapter 18: Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging before next class.
Wed Dec 01 Student pres. Lab 3Work on Reinforcement Learning lab TBD
Mon Dec 06 Lab 3Work on Reinforcement Learning lab TBD
Wed Dec 08 Lab 3Work on Reinforcement Learning lab TBD
Mon Dec 13 Work on final projects