New York University Faculty of Arts and Science College of Arts and Science Graduate School of Arts and Science


Warm Congratulations to Louis Nirenberg on being awarded the 2015 Abel Prize

Louis Nirenberg and John Nash have been awarded the 2015 Abel Prize "for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis." The award -- widely considered the equivalent of a Nobel Prize in Mathematics -- will be presented by King Harald of Norway in Oslo on May 19, 2015.

For more information and the official press release, click here.

Yuri Tschinkel elected AAAS Fellow

Yuri Tschinkel has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Warm congratulations, Yuri! Please see the AAAS news release for more information.

John Rinzel wins the Arthur T. Winfree Prize

Warm congratulations to John Rinzel for winning the 2015 Arthur T. Winfree Prize from the Society for Mathematical Biology!

For more, visit the Society for Mathematical Biology website.

Subhash Khot Wins The Nevanlinna Prize! Warm Congratulations to Subhash!!

Please see the news release for further information. Also read "What It Takes to Win the World's Highest Computer Science Honor" in Wired.

Andrew Majda, Morse Professor of Arts & Sciences at NYU Courant is the recipient of the 2015 ICIAM Lagrange Prize! Warm congratulations to Andy!!

The International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) awards the Lagrange Prize to Andy in recognition of his ground-breaking, original, fundamental and pioneering contributions to applied mathematics and, in particular, to wave front propagation and combustion, scattering theory, fluid dynamics and atmosphere climate science.

Click here for the ICIAM press release.


Welcome to the fall 2014 Courant Scholars!

Andrew K Lee
Katharina Plajer
Melissa Amber Schiff
Regina Zbarskaya

2014 Silver Professors

David McLaughlin and Patrick Cousot are the 2014 Silver Professors! Warm congratulations to Dave and to Patrick!!

For more information on Dave, Patrick and the other Silver Professors, please click here.


David Sontag and Thomas Wies have each received an NSF CAREER award for their projects "Exact Algorithms for Learning Latent Structures" (Sontag) and "Abstracting Programs for Automated Debugging" (Wies).

Congratulations to David and to Thomas!!

Profile of Yann LeCun

Yann LeCun's work on back-propagation neural networks and deep learning are the subject of an in-depth profile in Wired.

Tom Trogdon 2014 recipient of the SIAM Richard C. DiPrima Prize

The 2014 Recipient of the SIAM Richard C. DiPrima Prize is Tom Trogdon! Congratulations Tom!!

For further details, please visit the SIAM website.